Triumph Torque    Cars    Herald/Vitesse  ›  Easy/engine mods
Users Browsing Forum
No Members and 22 Guests

Easy/engine mods Print
1 Pages 1 Recommend Thread
Quickdraw
March 27, 2017, 8:41am Report to Moderator

Posts Per Day: 0.03
Morning all, dave the newbie here, I'm picking up my first ever herald 13/60 next weekend which I've bought as a bit of a weekender/ mini project which I plan on doing the following,
I want to lower it a bit to improve handling and the look,
New set of wheels,
Improve on the exhaust
Tidy up the bodywork a bit but not go mad.
I want to leave everything else original especially the interior.
So, my question is......... are there any obvious mods I should do to the engine to get a few more horses out, without stripping it down and mucking about with cams etc.  
It's running a single carb with standard breather box so is that worth swapping out or would I be wasting my time.  
Cheers guys and gals.    
Private Message
cliftyhanger
March 27, 2017, 9:06am Report to Moderator

Posts Per Day: 2.24
Welcome.

Simple answer is to get what you have working all correctly. I have seen cars (herald) go into a rolling road with 40ish bhp, and come out with nearly 60. Just by getting set up correctly. That is about 40% increase in power!

Changing to twin carb will bring little gain. With a 13/60 it is largely about head, compression and cam. So fiddling about with external bits can bring small increases but limited.

But best to get the car, make sure the carb is in decent condition, and really importantly the distributor is functioning as it should. Electronic ignition can be useful too. Watch out for cheap oarts, especially rotor arms and ignition leads. Originals often better, even if 30+ years old.